So people have asked me if Residence of Monsters is BL a few times, and I wanted to clarify a few things. This also has a lot to do with Jin Xiao Yi Tan.

Residence of Monsters is not BL. Even though it seems like it, and Byriel might be ambiguously bi, considering he says at one point that he doesn’t only hit on women, it’s not BL. This is because in the end nobody really ends up with anyone.


Jin Xiao Yi Tan is a little more complicated. There’s a ‘Shounen Ai’ tag on it on novelupdates, but as someone who’s read the five books, I would say that it’s more ‘up to interpretetion’. I’m talking about the end of volume 4 for example, where Jiuye says something to Xiao Mo. As for why I still tag it as BL, it’s because the author announced that there would be a side story coming out in the authors note at the end of the 5th book, and we could find the details for it on their facebook page.

The first line says ‘As for Jiuye and Xiao Mo’s development after this…’

And on their facebook page, Four Feet says that it’s Jiuye x Xiao Mo, and an R18 side story.

Four Feet likes to add on a BL side story every time one of their series is completed, for example their series ‘THE REAL AWAKENING’. The side story for that particular series is actually up online, called 屋簷下的小甜蜜.

And yes, I have every intention of buying and translating (and reading) that side story. That’s why there’s a Shounen Ai tag.


Anyways, hope this clears things up. Even if you didn’t ask for this post. I’ve actually been thinking hard about the tagging on Jin Xiao Yi Tan lately, so yeah. Even though this was brought on about someone asking about RoM, this post is mostly about JXYT.

7 thoughts on “

  1. Blood says:

    Thanks for the clarification, I had really asked if it was bl, but as I always leave it for after catching up with my backlog list I still did not start with … as for JXYT, I do not really care if it’s not BL I liked the story a lot and I am very intrigued about Jiuye and his action to take him to live with him 😒😒

    Like

  2. ReoMegu says:

    oh oh thank you for the explanation, JXYT does look very implicit even for shounen-ai sizes, but the interaction between Jiuye and Xiao Mo is very sweet in my opinion and also the story is very good (when I translate it into Indonesian, Indonesian readers like it too), so thanks because Yujuan-san has translated this novel :)

    Ah, on the R-18 part, I don’t really understand, does that mean there will be a scene in JXYT’s novel? or is it just a bonus story that will be posted online by the author?

    Like

    • yujuan says:

      I’m glad to know that the Indonesian readers are enjoying it! I just felt that a lot of the readers on this site are pretty concerned on whether the series’ I’m translating are BL or not and wanted to make things clear.

      There will not be an R18 scene in the five main books that are published by 三日月 that you can see in the Novel Synopses at the moment, but in the side story. The author says that the side story will be published in 同人誌 form, doujinshi, which means it won’t be published by the original publisher that distributed the five books. It’ll be published in physical copies, and I don’t think they’ll be posted online.

      I guess it makes sense that the author made it up to interpretation since people can just ignore the side story if they wanted to take it as non-BL.

      The side-story isn’t published yet, so I don’t exactly know what’s going to be in it other than what I touched upon in the post. Currently the author is still recovering from a minor surgery (mentioned on facebook) so it might take some time.

      Like

      • ReoMegu says:

        Ah, I see … so this novel can be said to be between BL or not depending on how the readers see it, doesn’t it?

        but the author will still make a side story of this novel, which will have an R-18 scene.

        hmm … hmm … I see … I understand now, but yeah I think this novel is really too implicit to be categorized as shounen-ai haha

        but beyond that, the story is really good :)

        ah, so the author is sick? I hope her/him get well soon, so that this side story novel can soon be there haha

        Yujuan-san, thank you for the hard work, I will wait for the JXYT novel update hehe

        And sorry if my English is bad :)

        Like

  3. TaffyGirl13 says:

    Psst have you read 屋簷下的小甜蜜? It has a surprisingly similar tone to the first chapter of the JXYT doujinshi that the author published last year, though I doubt it will get as angsty as 屋簷下的小甜蜜 did (which I’m grateful for haha). Though considering that I have yet to finish JXYT (the rest of the ebooks just got announced, so I plan on reading it soon!), I’m not sure why I went ahead and read the first chapter of the doujinshi anyways lol. I read spoilers for the main story though, so it was good enough xD

    Like

    • yujuan says:

      Unfortunately I am stuck on the first two volumes of The Real Awakening so no, I haven’t read the doujinshi! I like reading the original material before going into doujinshi territory…

      Liked by 1 person

      • TaffyGirl13 says:

        Wow, that’s hilarious because I just finished translating V2 hahaha. But yeah, the doujinshi for TRA is directly post-canon to the ending of V7 so it wouldn’t make much sense to read it before finishing the series. Meanwhile, I’m still waiting for the second season… >.>

        Like

Leave a comment